Hold the strawberry

A friend of mine recently mentioned how much she loves rhubarb, and how annoying it is that rhubarb recipies are overwhelmingly paired with strawberry (which she isn’t as crazy about). That got me thinking. Having a giant soft spot in my heart for all fruits (I can’t think of one I don’t love), strawberry-rhubarb is an automatic win for me.

Enter Rustic Fruit Desserts by Cory Schreiber and Julie Richardson. My darling sisters-in-law nabbed this cookbook for me last birthday and now that fruit is starting to pop back onto our local market scenes (and in our backyard and CSA box to boot), its been a source of inspiration.

My first experiment: Rhubarb and Tart Cherry Brown Betty. It’s a HUGE batch of dessert (I’d half the recipe next time), but oh-my-goodness yummy. And strawberry-free!

Rhubarb & Tart Cherry Brown Betty

(adapted slightly by me)

Also known as: YUM.

  • Butter for pan
  • 2.5 cups crushed shortbread cookies (I was lazy and used store-bought but you could make your own)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups chopped rhubarb
  • 1 cup pitted sour cherries (I used the pie cherries I canned last summer, drained/rinsed. super-easy.)
  • 1 tablespoon kirsch
  • Ice cream or whipped cream (for serving)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Butter your baking dish (this is the halved recipe, so I’d go with a 9X9 glass pan).

Mix cinnamon and sugar together in a large bowl.  Add rhubarb and cherries and mix to combine.  Drizzle in the kirsch and let the whole thing sit for 15-20 minutes to draw out some of the fruits juices and generally awesome-ize itself.

In the meantime, press the crushed cookies (maybe a little less than half of them) into the bottom of the pan to create a crust.

Dump the fruit on the top. Sprinkle the remaining cookie crumbs on top of all that.

Cover your pan with aluminum foil and toss that bad boy in the oven for 20-30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, remove the aluminum foil and allow the top to brown for about 10-15 more minutes (make sure the rhubarb is submerged in juices before you give it that last browning treatment).

Allow to cool. Serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream.

2 Comments

  1. So, stupid as I am…what is kirsch, and 2nd…are the cherries we have in the cupboard (canned by you) the ones you use in this recipe? This sounds pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

