Butternut squash soup with roasted red pepper puree

We made this recipe last week, and it was easy, and marvelous.

We served it with baguette (pain l’ancienne, to be fair, from Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, which is easily my favorite bread text) and a peppered chevre (which, I’ll be honest, I enjoyed more melted in my soup than on the bread — dipping the crusty loaf into a melty, tangy, earthy puree?  HEAVEN).

This reminds me to take a moment to say: I see all this fuss about bread in 5 minutes a day, and it’s annoying to me.  Really?  I mean, now that I have the right tools and understand around bread, I think it’s a lot easier than I used to (instant yeast, you have changed my life).  And honestly: bread is easy, and cheap, to make (I’m about to start a whole wheat pain de mie now), and the more people who get on the bandwagon, the better.

But it takes MORE than 5 minutes a day.  It takes understanding of the science behind bread, and technique, and practice.  And I’m no expert.  And my loaves sometimes fail.  And even my most successful bread-outing doesn’t compare to Rustica loaves perfected in a brick oven with steam.

I’m hopping off my soap breadbox now.

Leave a Reply

